1000 Days

1000 Days: The Ministry of Christ is an interesting book about the life and ministry of Christ. When I started reading the book I was looking for some hard-hitting, interesting thoughts or perspectives on the life and ministry of Jesus. What I came into contact with was a light, sort of easy-going approach to Jesus as a person. I feel like the book could have easily been called My thoughts on Jesus.

There are some interesting details that Jonathan Fallwell does dispense throughout – like the size of various bodies of water or areas – which I had not known previously. These tidbits of knowledge were more at the core of what I was expecting from this book, but found them to be the exception rather than the rule. (Although I must say that I learned some interesting pieces of information about fish.)

Falwell does go into some Biblical exegesis, which helps me to better understand certain passages of scripture. He starts out chapters with some interesting anecdotes. Some of these are applicable to his theses, while some just feel like interesting stories.

So if you’re looking for a deep expose of the life and times of Christ, then this book may not be for you. It is fairly small in size (about 200 pages) to cover 1000 days of Christ’s ministry. It is fairly light reading, and pretty easy to get through in a short period of time. So take that for what it’s worth. There are also questions at the back of each chapter for group discussion if this were used for a small group or class setting. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it for either of those settings based on its content.

1000 Days is not a “must read,” but it won’t kill you to read it either. You’ll probably learn a few new things in the process.

 

I was given this book to review by Booksneeze.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

