Stuff’s getting better…

“Stuff’s getting better. Stuff’s getting better every day.” – President Starky (AKA “The Postman”)

So for my faithful international followers, here is an update on what the blog is going to be like over the next few months. Here in the states we’re dealing with some early summer bursts of hot and cold weather. And since it’s not technically summer yet, I suppose we should be able to handle that. But why handle things when there’s time to whine, eh? 

Since it is summer, and I count myself in the number of fortunate individuals who is not working this summer – by choice -, I have decided to use that time productively. This is a wholly atypical response for me, and I wholeheartedly apologize to the faithful who have come to rely upon my unreliability and wanton laziness. Both those distinctions I hope to expunge this summer. 

Things I learned while trying to get educated is going to be primarily used as a vehicle to launch my novel writing career. Or… at least a chance to dabble in the world of fiction. We are a people of the story, you and I. It feels as if it’s written into our very DNA – coincidence, eh? We are raptured by the stories we see flash across our screens on a daily basis. Even the details of small, seemingly insignificant stories tend to take on the most gargantuan of value with the right crowd and inspiration. Maybe even a few extra details – that may have only actually happened in our heads, and in a perfect world – for good measure?

So I have decided to throw my hat and this blog into the ring. In the format of the great writers of old, I am going to be releasing chapters on a weekly basis. Just a brief history lesson (I’m a History teacher and Lit buff, so sue me). This type of weekly release – typically in a magazine or newspaper – is referred to as “serial literature” – among other titles. Quite a few of our greatest pieces of literature – not that I consider my humble piece of work to be part of this category – were consumed in this fashion; minus the internet I suppose. A few examples are: Charles Dickens’ Pickwick Papers, Harriet Beecher Stowe’s Uncle Tom’s Cabin, and Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina (I’m guessing the release, start to finish, of that one must have lasted longer than many marriages these days.). 

The name of the story is The Life and Times of Steve. It will be as series of short stories representing moments in this characters life. A big thank you goes out to my good friend, Kevin John. It was he who told me to get on my lazy butt – which I was already sitting on anyhow – and do something productive with my life. We shall see if writing is that productive thing. If not, then I will go back to my Netflix obsession instantly, with a dash of Hulu for good measure. 

The release date for each chapter will be on Sunday. So you can look for the first chapter to be posted this Sunday, June 24th. I thank thee for thy patronage and bid thee adieu. I’ve got some chapters to write…

Phil

2 thoughts on “Stuff’s getting better…

Add yours

  1. All right! YES!! I am so excited you are going to do this. There’s something sweet about writing, and I’m so happy you’ve got the bug too. Blessings on this awesome, inspiring journey. I look forward to reading your first chapter. Your #1 fan. 🙂

  2. Phil, this is so great! I’m so excited for you and your summer of writing. Way to commit your “lazy butt” to the task by letting us all know about it. Now I will be extremely disappointed if there isn’t a great Sunday read every week this summer. No pressure =) You are a natural, this will be easy for you I’m sure. Just don’t stop writing whatever you do. Don’t stop!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

