From the Library of C.S. Lewis: Selections from Writers who Influenced His Spiritual Journey, is pretty much what the title describes. The book is series of excerpts from various books and writings that appears in C.S. Lewis’ own personal library. Just a few of these authors are: Tolkien, Chaucer, Augustine, George MacDonald, and Thomas Aquinas.

If you’re looking to make yourself a little more classically spiritually literate this is a great text for you. I like the way that the excerpts are short – typically not much longer than a page. This really works well for the low attention span readers among us. The excerpts are short, but poignant and are divided by the topic of the authors. The sub-divisions and short easily consumed takeouts make this a really good devotional-type text.

Also, if you do have an interested in C.S. Lewis, this really is an interesting insight into the writings that inspired him. I’m not sure that I came away from this book with any super deep insights into Lewis’ psyche, but I did find that I liked the same stuff he did. Not all of it was Christian writings either, – even including writings from Jung and Beowulf – which really helps to illuminate the real depth of Lewis interest and influence.

Overall, it was a great book which I’m glad to have as part of my library. From the Library of C.S. Lewis is a book that I’ll be reading a few more times for sure. It has some amazing texts for thought and spiritual reflection.

I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing to review. I am under no obligation to give it a positive review.

